Buck Mountain Creek

Buck Mountain Creek in Albemarle County

In 1939, the Thomas Jefferson Soil & Water Conservation District became the 2nd of what are now 47 Soil & Water Conservation Districts in Virginia. The boundaries of the TJSWCD evolved over the years, but for most of its history, it has been comprised of Albemarle, Fluvanna, Louisa and Nelson Counties. In 2006, the City of Charlottesville became a member.

The TJSWCD is one of the largest SWCDs in Virginia, both in number of member localities and in geographic area. The population of the TJSWCD is over 227,000 and we cover a land area of about 1,984 square miles.